Riddle Her Offended – By everything. Always.

I like getting offended. I do. Maybe it’s that high school girl in me that likes having something to bitch and moan about, but I like it. I like complaining to my husband about things and having him validate me despite the fact that I’m clearly a crazy person.

If you do a quick Internet search for things that offend people, pages upon pages of articles and blogs would be available to you… because everyone is offended by something. We all like being offended. Sometimes we even decide to find things offensive that weren’t designed for offense.

If someone says to a mom ‘My, you have your hands full’, there is inner outrage. But, why? As a mom to three children, I can honesty say, there have been days when I felt overwhelmed before my kids were even out of bed. I DO have my hands full! Why is that observation from a stranger offensive?

I bring this up because I think we are being conditioned. We are being conditioned to complain. And I am the worst of all. I have found the most absurd things in the world to complain about.

We complain about silly things and then hash tag them as #firstworldproblems when, in reality, they are very rarely even problems at all. They are just inconveniences. But, in a world heavy laden with convenience, we find ourselves forgetting what a problem looks like.

We have defined inane everyday occurrences as problems; we have become offended by people noticing us. We have even taken it so far as to begin lists of things that people can or cannot say to us.

We have become a nation of people who are expected to walk on eggshells and to point a finger anytime anyone other than ourselves shatters one.

We get to say things like ‘[Opposing political party} people are morons’ and then be offended when others say the same about us. We get to tell people that, because they chose the life they have, they cannot complain about it. We get to be offended by any and every thing that happens in our daily life.

And with the rise of social media, we seem to have grown what I like to call ‘Internet Balls’ where we can post articles, photos, thought, ranting’s…about anything we want to without having to face the people who see it.

We get to tell people how offended we are by every little thing throughout our day and then, when there is someone willing to dispute our feelings, we get to delete their thoughts from our view.

I say all of this because I want help. I need help. I need to be held accountable. I want to be less offended. I want to stop letting little things become big things. I want to be able to engage in a debate without letting offense stop the progress.

Imagine, if we stopped being so easily offended, how much more conversation could be had.

And – it is through conversations, through COMMUNICATION, that we actually begin to find resolve.

If I am going to make a difference, I am going to have to stop letting myself become so offended. I am going to have to stop seeing everything as a problem. And I am going to have to start persevering.

So offend me. Challenge me. And I am going to do the same to you. I’m no longer going to stop conversation when it gets difficult. I am going to raise the bar of difficulty in my life. I am going to redefine offense in my world.

Starting now.

Xo

Hannah

10670088_10203797663436078_7734474058596929682_n

Leave a Reply

