Riddle Her Warned – My world, labeled.

My mom has always been a tea drinker. It’s a trait that I inherited and cherish now. I love starting my morning with a hot cup of tea and honey. A nice added perk is that I don’t have to drink coffee, which, in my correct opinion, tastes like bad breath.

But, as a kid, I vividly remember not liking tea. Something about it looking like dry salad. Who knows?

So, in lieu of hot tea, my mom would make me warm milk with honey and I would sit on the bench in our kitchen and talk to her while she drank tea. It’s a happy memory for me.

So tonight I decided to make Charlotte Louise a mug of warm milk and honey. But, as I lifted her mug to see if it was microwave safe (dude, we like a little radiation in our diet – don’t send me any e-mails), I couldn’t help but laugh at the warning label. ‘Dishwasher safe. Microwave safe. May get hot in microwave.’ MAY get hot in microwave?!? Uh, y’all. That crap is totally getting hot in the microwave. And it should. It’s being microwaved.

We’ve all seen these silly warning labels. We’ve all wondered who the idiots were that necessitated these warning labels. But tonight, what it got me thinking about was – what if my world was labeled?

What if my house had a warning sign?

Warning: Nothing matches. Residents don’t mow the backyard because they are lazy. Dog in back looks like a wolf, but won’t actually do anything so feel free to break down the doors. Enter at no risk.

What if my car had a warning sign?

Warning: Driver has road rage and children. Driver is neurotic – if you drive behind her for more than 2 turns, she will think you are following her to murder her.

What if I had a label?

Warning: Emotionally delusional. Talks about things no one else cares about. Insecure. Takes online quizzes, but is too cool to post results to Facebook. Dances to Britney Spears in private. Cries about everything. Perpetually worried.

What if my world was labeled? Would I be married? Would I have a husband, kids, a home, friends? Probably not.

The moral of this story is a fairly serious one, actually.

It is so easy to see someone else’s garbage. You know, the obvious kind. The person who is battling an eating disorder, the person who is doing drugs, the person behind bars, the person on the news for a shooting…

It’s so easy to judge what we can see.

But perhaps if we took a minute to think about what we carry that no one else can see, we would be more inclined to forgive what we CAN see.

That’s all.

Goodnight, y’all.

images

Leave a Reply

