Riddle Her Old – The day I met my arch nemesis.

For the longest time I have tried to avoid a very important issue. But, unfortunately, I feel it is time to be really open about something that has been going on with me. It’s hard to put into words how I feel today. It’s been a long road to get to the point where I can admit the following:

I am getting old.

There.  I said it.

Few things make it more apparent that I am getting old than current internet/text lingo.

For longer than I care to admit, I have wondered who ‘Ty’ was and how all my friends knew him but I didn’t. I mean – even friends who didn’t know each other knew Ty. He was everywhere. And always being kind and inquisitive.

I would scroll through Facebook and see conversations like this:

STRANGER – OMG! I totes love your adorable skirt!

STRANGER – LOL is that the same shirt I have?!?! And where did you get that skirt?

STRANGER – You’re so cray! Looking supa’ sexy! 😉

MY FRIEND – Ty, I got it at Forever 21 (because I still have my figure from high school and I know Hannah is reading this and wants to cry).

Who was Ty?????? Did he have me blocked? Why couldn’t I see his comments?

And then a few weeks later:

MY FRIEND: Hey everyone! I’m looking for sitter for tomorrow night (because I have a life and I know Hannah is reading this and wants to cry). Anyone have a recommendation?

STRANGER: Hey, my little sister totes babysits for extra gas money.

STRANGER: I wish I lived closer; I’d come watch them! [**Note** People – stop responding like this. No one wants an unhelpful response from someone who is incapable.]

MY FRIEND: Ty, I found someone!

What?!?! I still can’t see his comments!!!!

So, I would scour my brain for any memory if this Ty guy. Did he see that I liked that stupid video of the cat falling out of the tree and block me because he knew how uncool I was? Did he think that I was a different Hannah that he dated once and block me so I wouldn’t stalk him??? Well TOO BAD, TY! I’M STALKING THE HELL OUTTA YOU NOW!!

But guys – here’s a secret – ‘TY’ is short for ‘Thank You’.

Turns out I have polite friends – not a top-secret arch nemesis named Ty.

So, I’m getting old. And I’m learning to cope.

One day at a time.

xo

10849951_365120713665081_8953656480104238708_n

2 thoughts on “Riddle Her Old – The day I met my arch nemesis.

  1. OK. I have to rant, real quick—please get over the “getting old” business. Not just you, everyone. I hear it from a lot of folks who are about my age (31) and I think it’s ridiculous! Maybe when I was 14, being 31 sounded “old,” but I was a freaking idiot back then, 🙂 The truth is, we are in our PRIME!

    A human is old when their joints hurt for no reason, when they have a hard time recovering from the flu, and sometimes (very rarely) when they have just given up on life and have stopped trying to be healthy. But definitely NOT when they’ve neglected to keep up with the slang–(especially if they have a solid excuse, like having back to back babies.) OK. Sister-in-law-to-be rant over.

    Like

    1. I get ya, molly. I don’t really think I’m old. Although – I am getting older and I honestly have loved every year more. I hope my tone was received as silly!

      I by no means would define myself as old – I WOULD say that I’m in a very different stage of life now that comes with getting older. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

